Free Shipping on 1000's of Items

  • Austin Film Critics Association 2010 Awards

    *Press Release reprint from proud AFCA member Dave Campbell

    By | December 23, 2010

    *December 22, 2010 (Austin, TX) – The Austin Film Critics Association announces its 6th annual end-of-year awards with 12 films covering the 16 various awards for 2010.

    The ballet drama Black Swan won five awards, including the top honor, Best Film, it was announced today by Cole Dabney, President of the Austin Film Critics Association (AFCA). Black Swan director Darren Aronofsky, lead actress Natalie Portman, screenwriters Mark Heyman, Andres Heinz, and John McLaughlin, and cinematographer Matthew Libatique were also recognized for their outstanding work.

    Colin Firth was named Best Actor for his portrayal of the speech-impaired King George VI in The Kingʼs Speech, while Christian Bale and Hailee Steinfeld were recognized as Best Supporting Actor and Best Supporting Actress in The Fighter and True Grit, respectively.

    The Social Network picked up one prize – Best Adapted Screenplay – for Aaron Sorkinʼs adaptation of Ben Mezrichʼs nonfiction book The Accidental Billionaires: The Founding of Facebook, a Tale of Sex, Money, Genius, and Betrayal. The Social Network was also named the second best film of the year in the AFCAʼs overall ballot.

    Jacques Audiardʼs French prison drama A Prophet (Un Prophète) won Best Foreign Language Film, French electronica pioneer Daft Punk was recognized for its original score for Tron: Legacy, and Pixarʼs Toy Story 3 took Best Animated Feature. Banksyʼs prankish Exit Through the Gift Shop was awarded Best Documentary.

    For her lively and distinctive work in both Let Me In and Kick-Ass, the AFCA awarded Chloë Grace Moretz its Robert R.McCurdy Memorial Breakthrough Artist Award. The award is named after Bobby McCurdy, a founding and much-loved member of the AFCA who passed away suddenly just this week. Each year, his favorite award to discuss and forecast prior to voting was the
    Breakthrough Artist Award.

    British writer/director Gareth Edwardsʼ debut Monsters was named Best First Film; it world-premiered at the 2010 South by Southwest Film Festival in Austin. And Austin filmmaker Ben Steinbauerʼs Winnebago Man, a personal documentary about the filmmakerʼs relationship with the “Angriest Man in the World,” viral video sensation Jack Rebney, was named Best Austin Film.

    In recognition of both its five years of superlative drama and its contributions to the Austin film and television community, the AFCA bestowed a special honorary award on “Friday Night Lights”. The show is currently airing its final season on DirecTV, with a rebroadcast on NBC set for the new year.


    Best Film:
    Black Swan

    Best Director:
    Darren Aronofsky, Black Swan

    Best Actor:
    Colin Firth, The King’s Speech

    Best Actress:
    Natalie Portman, Black Swan

    Best Supporting Actor:
    Christian Bale, The Fighter

    Best Supporting Actress:
    Hailee Steinfeld, True Grit

    Best Original Screenplay:
    Black Swan, Mark Heyman and Andres Heinz and John McLaughlin

    Best Adapted Screenplay:
    The Social Network, Aaron Sorkin

    Best Cinematography:
    Black Swan, Matthew Libatique

    Best Original Score:
    Tron: Legacy, Daft Punk

    Best Foreign Language Film:
    A Prophet (Un Prophète), France [dir. Jacques Audiard]

    Best Documentary:
    Exit Through the Gift Shop [dir. Banksy]

    Best Animated Feature:
    Toy Story 3 [dir. Lee Unkrich]

    Robert R. McCurdy Memorial Breakthrough Artist Award:
    Chloë Grace Moretz, Kick-Ass/Let Me In

    Best First Film:
    Monsters, Gareth Edwards

    Austin Film Award:
    Winnebago Man, Ben Steinbauer

    Special Honorary Award:
    Friday Night Lights, for producing excellent, locally made television and
    contributing to the film community in Austin for the past five years

    Top 10 Films:
    1. Black Swan

    2. The Social Network

    3. Inception

    4. Toy Story 3

    5. The King’s Speech

    6. True Grit

    7. The Fighter

    8. Un Prophete

    9. Winter’s Bone

    10. Scott Pilgrim vs. the World


    2010 Membership Roster:
    The AFCA’s membership includes 20 professional film critics from the Central
    Texas Area who review movies for daily newspapers, weekly alternatives, local
    and cable television, monthly magazines, and websites with international

    Ain’t It Cool News:
    Harry Knowles
    Eric Vespe

    Austin-American Statesman:
    Charles Ealy

    Austin Chronicle:
    Marjorie Baumgarten
    Kimberley Jones
    Marc Savlov

    Jette Kernion

    Film School Rejects:
    Neil Miller
    C. Robert Cargill

    Gordon and the Whale:
    Chase Whale

    Hill Country News:
    Laurie Coker’s Not Dead/Horror Squad:
    Peter S. Hall

    INsite Magazine:
    Cole Dabney
    Robert McCurdy

    News 8 Austin:
    Victor Diaz

    Jenn Brown

    Smells Like Screen Spirit:
    Dave Campbell
    Korey Coleman
    Chris Cox
    Martin Thomas

    Topics: News | No Comments »