Free Shipping on 1000's of Items

  • Online Film Critics Society Announces Winners

    By | December 16, 2013


    Founded in 1997, the Online Film Critics Society (OFCS) is the largest and oldest organization of its kind, and a key catalyst in the expansion of Internet-based film journalism. As a newly ordained member of the OFCS, I am honored to be one of the 265-or-so members who voted in the nomination process.(In case you are curious, here is my 2013 Ballot.)

    Here are the recipients (highlighted below) of the 17th annual OFCS awards for excellence in film:

    Best Picture

    12 Years a Slave
    American Hustle
    Before Midnight
    Blue Is the Warmest Color
    Drug War
    Inside Llewyn Davis
    Short Term 12
    The Wind Rises

    Best Animated Feature

    Despicable Me 2
    From Up on Poppy Hill
    Monsters University
    The Wind Rises

    Best Film Not in the English Language

    Blue Is the Warmest Color
    Drug War
    Museum Hours
    The Wind Rises

    Best Documentary

    56 Up
    The Act of Killing
    At Berkeley
    Stories We Tell

    Best Director

    Joel Coen, Ethan Coen – Inside Llewyn Davis
    Alfonso Cuaron – Gravity
    Spike Jonze – Her
    Steve McQueen – 12 Years a Slave
    Hayao Miyazaki – The Wind Rises

    Best Actor

    Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a Slave
    Tom Hanks – Captain Phillips
    Oscar Isaac – Inside Llewyn Davis
    Mads Mikkelsen – The Hunt
    Joaquin Phoenix – Her

    Best Actress

    Amy Adams – American Hustle
    Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine
    Julie Delpy – Before Midnight
    Adèle Exarchopoulos – Blue Is the Warmest Color
    Brie Larsen – Short Term 12

    Best Supporting Actor

    Barkhad Abdi – Captain Phillips
    Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave
    Jared Leto – Dallas Buyers Club
    Matthew McConaughey – Mud
    Sam Rockwell – The Way, Way Back

    Best Supporting Actress

    Sally Hawkins – Blue Jasmine
    Scarlett Johansson – Her
    Jennifer Lawrence – American Hustle
    Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave
    Léa Seydoux – Blue Is the Warmest Color

    Best Original Screenplay

    American Hustle
    Blue Jasmine
    Inside Llewyn Davis
    Museum Hours

    Best Adapted Screenplay

    12 Years a Slave
    Before Midnight
    In the House
    Short Term 12
    The Wind Rises

    Best Editing

    12 Years a Slave
    Drug War
    Inside Llewyn Davis

    Best Cinematography

    12 Years a Slave
    The Grandmaster
    The Great Beauty
    Inside Llewyn Davis

    Special Awards

    1) Best Sound Design and Best Visual Effects to Gravity
    2) To Roger Ebert, for inspiring so many of our members

    Top Ten films Without a U.S. Release
    Closed Curtain
    Like Father, Like Son
    Our Sunhi
    The Rocket
    Stranger By the Lake
    We Are the Best!
    Le Weekend
    Why Don’t You Play in Hell?

    Topics: News | No Comments »